Know Yourself to Know Your Neighbor

20130312-000306.jpg

All things happen for a reason. Nothing is set into motion without a force, of some kind, propelling it. These are the laws of physics but they are also the laws of behavior and personalities. Humans are not excluded from the laws that govern the rest of the universe.

I think 99% of us are born capable of the same intelligence, creativity, and productivity. Then we grow up and some of us have inspiring figures in our lives that we aspire to be like. Some of us have parents we’re close to and don’t want to disappoint, so we act responsibly. Others don’t, so the powerful incentives for good choices aren’t there. We began similar but the positive and negatives forces of the world take it from there. We diverge but not randomly. Every characteristic, good or bad, is a scar the world left on us.

Depending on where we grow up, what our family was like, what the friends in our school were like, and other variables, we become us. What the world throws at us changes us but whatever attributes we develop as a result of our environment, others would have likely done the same had they been born in our place. In order to be truly different, your instinctive motivations, aspirations, anxieties, insecurities would have to be inhuman. Pause and ask yourself, does advertising get through to you or do funny commercials, sales, and sex appeal not affect your attention? Do you feel happier when you’re around people? Do you remember embarrassing moments long after they’ve passed? I think the odds are, you’re a lot like the rest of us.

I am before all other things, a person. I am defined as a person more than as an individual.

I love to surf, it’s an almost spiritual experience for me. Thats unique because only a small % of the US population are avid surfers. But surfing is not in my blood. I happened to grow up near the ocean and people I knew volunteered to teach me. Paddling out into big surf is amazing but most people fit enough to paddle out would feel similarly. The cold water shocks you awake, the roar of crashing waves excites, the waves passing beneath you are lulling. Surfing is like a beautiful woman, it is so intoxicating that it’s easy to fall in love.

I love music but I grew up around it. Had blues not been playing every time I went somewhere with my dad, then I might not love soulful music like I do today. Had I grown up listening to country I might like it instead of finding it annoying. These are examples of how I did not make myself.

Take it a step further and you’ll see I’m even less unique. I consider surfing and music to be important parts of me but if I had to move to Arizona for five years, I might fall in love with rock climbing over time. If I moved to Texas and lived on a ranch for five tears, country music might grow on me. So the things that make me an individual are fluid.

The things that truly define me are my human characteristics. They are persistent characteristics that I will have no matter what. Things like the enjoyment of adrenaline. The natural high of a sport, whether it be surfing a wave or climbing a rock face, is always going to appeal to me. The emotion of a song in the right setting, too, will always hit me. Whether it be the nostalgia of blues, country blasting in a pickup truck with the windows down, or Christmas music in a cozy cabin on a winter night, music will always be a stimulant to my emotions.

I am social. Many of my life’s greatest moments were moments of shared laughter and adventure. My dreams and ambitions never leave me, not for a day. Sexuality is in my bones, large breasts will usually catch my attention. I want to feel attractive. I prefer to be liked. These are my most important and persistent characteristics, and they are basic human traits.

I’m in your head and, if you choose to think clearly, you’re in mine. My thoughts are not so unique that they can’t be guessed at. Neither are yours. That’s why we can be marketed to. We respond to similar stimuli. We notice sex appeal and like commercials that make us laugh. We like stores that convey a feeling of individuality. We’ll pay extra for a warm, social atmosphere. We are social beings, our happiness directly tied to connecting with others. We have ambition, dreams, we worry about money, aren’t making enough, we wish we did fun things more, and love YouTube. Our similarities are too numerous to list.

Trying to define yourself? Start with the things that define us all.

25 responses to “Know Yourself to Know Your Neighbor

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after I
    clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just
    wanted to say fantastic blog!

    Like

  2. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your
    situation; many of us have developed some nice
    practices and we are looking to trade strategies with other folks, please shoot me an email if interested.

    Like

  3. Simply want to say your article is aas astonishing.
    Thee clearness in your submit is just great andd i can assume you’re an explert on this subject.
    Well along with your permission allow me to take hld of your fedd to stay updated with imminent post.
    Thank you one million and please continue thee gratifying work.

    Like

  4. My partner and I stumbled over here different page and thought I should
    check things out. I like what I see so now
    i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your
    web page again.

    Like

  5. I like the helpful info you provide for your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at
    once more right here regularly. I am rather certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

    Like

  6. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to
    check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great blog!

    Like

  7. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.I will make
    certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back from now on. I
    want to encourage one to continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

    Like

  8. In addition, you could possibly be subjected to a enforced collection action (levy,
    garnishments, etc. A periodic-payment offer means any offer of payments manufactured
    in six or higher installments. Together with all the IRS, too as your tax attorney, you.

    In addition, Standard & Poor’s also lowered the Greek National Bank, Euro Bank,
    Alpha Bank and Piraeus Bank’s credit history. Visit his
    blog: David Wright Accountants – Chartered Certified Accountants serving around South Wales.

    Like

  9. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few
    interesting things or tips. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

    Like

  10. Usually I don’t learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very
    forced me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me.
    Thanks, very nice article.

    Like

  11. Magnificent web site. Plenty of helpful info here.
    I’m sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thanks in your sweat!

    Like

  12. Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say this blog
    loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a fair price?
    Kudos, I appreciate it!

    Like

  13. I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of house
    . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site.
    Studying this information So i’m happy to convey that I have an incredibly good uncanny
    feeling I discovered just what I needed. I such a lot indubitably will make certain to don?t fail to remember this web site and give it a glance on a relentless basis.

    Like

    • Hi Kaylee, if you are on a desktop you should see follow buttons on the right hand side. If you are on a mobile device you must scroll down to the bottom to follow. Thanks for checking the site out!

      Like

Thoughts? Share them!

